Who we are

The All-Party Parliamentary Group for the Visual Arts has been established to provide a forum for parliamentarians to foster a deeper understanding of the issues and challenges faced by UK visual artists.

The APPG’s statement of purpose is to:

  • Advance the understanding of how visual artists carry out their practice and develop their careers;
  • Ensure fair pay for visual artists and safeguard their intellectual property rights;
  • Recognise the value artists bring to society and the UK economy, and ensure their artistic contributions are rewarded;
  • Foster an environment in the UK in which visual artists can flourish.
* Due to the proroguing of Parliament on Friday 24th May 2024, all APPGs have now ceased to exist. APPGs can be re-registered once Parliament is sworn in.*

Past Chair, Officers and Members

Theo Clarke MP – Chair and Officer

Theo Clarke is the Conservative MP for Stafford and before politics worked for the Museum of Modern Art in New York and for British auction house, Christie’s. She is co-founder of the Association of Women in the Arts


  • The Earl of Clancarty
  • Theo Clarke MP
  • Lord Freyberg
  • Sharon Hodgson MP

Other Members

  • Lord Aberdare
  • Baroness Bakewell
  • Simon Baynes MP
  • Lord Bird
  • Baroness Bonham-Carter
  • Lord Clement-Jones
  • Damian Collins MP
  • Lord Crathorne
  • Julie Elliot MP
  • Lord Faulkner
  • Baroness Fleet
  • Lord Freyberg
  • Sir Roger Gale MP
  • Lord Hampton
  • Lord Inglewood
  • Kim Johnson MP
  • Rachael Maskell MP
  • Baroness McIntosh
  • Jamie Stone MP
  • Baroness Warwick
  • Giles Watling MP
  • Lord Vaizey
  • Baroness Young of Hornsey